Summary Status

Options

Hi, I am trying to populate the overall status of a Project on to the Dashboard. So lets say, these are the 4 status types.

How do I populate a rollup status in a secondary sheet with the help of formuale wherein, if any of the statuses are "Complete", "In Progress" Or Not Started", then it says On Track but if any of the status says "delayed", then populate the status is "Delayed"

Answers

• Jemari
    Jemari ✭✭
    edited 01/18/23
    Options

I will start off by saying I am NOT an expert in smartsheet, but this is my 2 cents...

• If the status column is manually populated on a per-row basis, you will be best to manually populate the overall summary status as well.
    • If it is populated based on logic, post that here and we can look at how to do a summary row calculation.

The conventional methods I have seen are (and I am not a fluent SS user so there may be others):

• Start with heirarchy rollup. If you indent a row, it becomes a child of the row above. The % complete in the parent row is a calculation of all the combined child rows. You can have one row at the top of your sheet and every row below that is a child which "sums" up everything.
    • Consider creating locked rows at the top of the sheet that show the originally scheduled start and end dates of the project. These are separate from and do not change based on the logic in the individual project milestone & task rows below, and it gives you a baseline to see if dates are creeping based on updated start and end dates. You can include milestone rows as well. This can also be accomplished with a "due date" column that is locked such that only sheet admins can edit/change it which provides same thing on a per row basis, however I find the column approach is more granular than needed, and it annoys the team when they cannot edit this in-row.