Is creating an equipment level training tracker like this possible?

I'm working on a project for Employee Equipment Level Training tracking. I am new to this role and new to Smartsheet. After some researching, I think the Employee Onboarding template (Setup: New Employee Onboarding - Smartsheet.com) is a great idea, however it doesn't meet the needs I’m looking to cover. I’ve also looked at the Healthcare Credential Tracking as a route as well.

I'm reaching out to the community to see if anyone has done this previously, and if so, how'd you do it?

Current Setup:

Using an excel file:

Enter the name of person doing the entry.

Search name of person who’s training record is being updated by company initials. If not present, then create new entry.  

Select date, certification and cert type and level to be updated.

Then it run macros to update other sheets in the file.

The problem with current setup is this depends heavily upon checklists being printed, filled out and signed. Also, because of the paper hassle, most trainees wait until the entire thing is filled out before turning it in. If audited, this can be a problem because the training department doesn’t have an actual record of the tasks.

Background:

5+ departments each with multiple equipment families.

Each of those families have checklists leveled 1-6.

Each checklist has tasks to be completed.

Each task has a four-step process (plan, prepare, practice, preform) to reach a level of proficiency before being completely signed off on task.

So my questions:

1.   Using the ease of the current excel setup, can this be replicated in Smartsheet but on a more microscopic level? By that I mean, each step from the small 4 step process to actual level completion would be dated and signed by both trainee and trainer with additional signature of supervisor/myself for the final level completion (I say signature but really, it’ll be a record of date signing by checking who edited the sheet.)