Multiple conditions withing an IF formula

Options

I am extremely new to smartsheet and I'm having problems understanding the formatting for multiple conditions within an IF(AND()) formula.

I want to have a status show complete only when multiple columns are filled in.

So far I have the date =IF([Date Complete]@row = TODAY(0), "Complete")

The issues comes when I have to add text as well as approved conditions.

The columns are as follows that I need filled first to reach my end goal

Trainee Initials - text

Trainer initials - Text

Trainer Approval - Dropdown (approved)

Training Department Approval - Dropdown (approved)

The dropdown I believe would be

=IF(AND([Date Complete]@row = TODAY(0), [Trainer Approval@row] = "Approved", [Training Department Approval@row] = "Approved", "Complete"). I'm just not sure how to include initials or even if what I have is correct.

It's going to be converted into a column formula and the approvals are automated. Once everything for that task is complete, the status would change and the whole role becomes green.

Any help is greatly appreciated. Thank you!

Best Answer

• kelly906
    kelly906 ✭✭✭
    Answer ✓
    Options

Hello! Understood your criteria to be those listed below in order to consider a row "complete".

• Must be todays date
    • Both Trainee and Trainer must both have entered anything into the initials fields (not null)
    • Both Trainer and Training Dept must have specified 'approved'

I used a checkbox field to indicate "complete".

=IF(AND([Completed Date]@row = TODAY(), [Trainee Initials]@row <> "", [Trainer Initials]@row <> "", [Trainer Approval]@row = "Approved", [Training Department Approval]@row = "Approved"), 1, 0)

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------