I'm trying to calculate the number of instances where only two items appear in a cell.

I'm trying to calculate the number of instances where only two items (the words content and functionality) appear in a cell. My current formula is not pulling the correct count. Any suggestions? P.S. I'm a formula rookie :)

=COUNTIFS({Sub Type Update}, "Functionality", AND "Content", {PhaseForecast}, OR(CONTAINS("Planned", @cell), CONTAINS("In-Process", @cell)))

Tags:

Answers

• Jeff Reisman
    Jeff Reisman ✭✭✭✭✭✭

@Mike13 What type of columns are the {Sub Type Update} range and {PhaseForecast} range referencing? Plain Text/Number or multi-select dropdown list?

For multi-select fields, I'm thinking your logic might be something like this:

Determine the rows where Sub Type Update contains both 'Content' and 'Functionality', where the same row contains either 'Planned' or 'In-Process'; Of those, determine the number of distinct values in the Sub Type Update cell and count the instances where that number is 2.

So you may use something like:

=COUNTIFS(COUNT(DISTINCT(COLLECT({Sub Type Update}, {Sub Type Update}, HAS(@cell, "Functionality"), {Sub Type Update}, HAS(@cell, "Content"), {PhaseForecast}, OR(HAS(@cell, "Planned"), HAS(@cell, "In-Process"))))), =2)

I haven't tested this anywhere. Check parentheses to make sure they line up in Smartsheet. Logically this should work, but your mileage may vary. Good luck!

Regards,

Jeff Reisman

Link: Smartsheet Functions Help Pages Link: Smartsheet Formula Error Messages

If my answer helped solve your issue, please mark it as accepted so that other users can find it later. Thanks!

• Yes, it's a multi-select dropdown list. Unfortunately, this did not calculate correctly. It returned 0 (should have been 91). Thank you for your help!

• Jeff Reisman
    Jeff Reisman ✭✭✭✭✭✭