How to input data into target sheet from a source without a unique ID

Options
Meredith Rhodes
Meredith Rhodes ✭✭✭
edited 02/22/24 in Formulas and Functions

For context, I am mining public clinicaltrials.gov records to associate unique trial records with results publications. There are often multiple results publications linked to an individual trial record.

I have a sheet of my institutional records, each record has its own row and is uniquely identified by a national clinical trial number (NCT number).

I have a report that lists all results publications (each publication has a unique ID called the PMID) attached to each trial record. So my list looks like this (red cells are duplicate NCT numbers):

Before I studied the above report, I set up a data shuttle to populate a Results PMID cell (text format) based on the unique NCT number. This of course only grabs the *first PMID* associated with the trial record, and skips all of the others.

Trial records will have anywhere from 0-20+ results PMIDs associated with them.

I'm trying to work through a process to move all associated results PMIDs into the relevant trial row on my sheet.

Do I import the PMIDs into a dropdown list in the Results PMID column? Is there a way to run a data shuttle to select all relevant PMIDs for a trial record?

Is there a best practice for handling this sort of scenario?

Thank you!

Meredith

Answers

• Paul Newcome
    Paul Newcome ✭✭✭✭✭✭
    Options

What if you created another column in the source and combined the NCT and PMID? Would that create a unique data point on every row?

• Meredith Rhodes
    Options

Hi @Paul Newcome -

I'm not sure I follow your line of thinking. The Unique ID on my target sheet is the NCT number. If I combine the NCT + PMID into a single column on the source sheet, what would be the process for connecting it to my target sheet?