Help Needed with Stoplight Function for Two Rows

Hello,

I have a need to create a stoplight (Red, Yellow, Green, Blue) for a project. The project needs to reference a "due date" column and a status column such that:

IF([Due Date]1 < TODAY(0), "Red", IF(Status1 = "in process", "Green", IF(Status1 = "Closed")))

Also

IF([Due Date]1 < TODAY(-60), "Yellow", IF(Status1 = "In Process", "Blue"))

Then I get lost.... What my logic is in my head:

If the due date is beyond today and the status is "in process" or "not started" I need it to show red

Regardless of the due date, if a process is "closed" I need it to show green. I would also like it to show green if "in-process" 120 to 61 days prior to the due date

I need the color to show yellow if "in process" or "not started" 60 days prior to the due date

Lastly I need blue color on all "NA" and blue on "not started" over 120 days prior to due date.

I am brand new to smart sheet, I'm trying to get the hang of this and some pieces of formula work, then when I try to add to it, everything blows up. I need everything in one formula. Can anyone point me in the right direction?

Thanks in advance,

Zach

Best Answers

• Carson Penticuff
    Carson Penticuff ✭✭✭✭✭✭
    Answer ✓

I am having some difficulty following the logic you have listed. Let's walk through it step-by-step and see what we can come up with.

• Status = NA (Always Blue)
    • Status = closed (Always Green)
    • Status = in process
      • Past due = Red
      • Due date is between today and 60 days in the future = Yellow
      • Due date is between 61 and 120 days in the future = Green
      • Due date is greater than 120 days in the future = ?
    • Status = not started
      • Past due = Red
      • Due date is between 61 and 120 days in the future = ?
      • Due date is greater than 120 days in the future = Blue

• Zach2050
    Zach2050
    Answer ✓

Thank you! That worked.