Is there a way to build and cycle through dashboards for a number of similar projects?

Options

Hi,

I'm new to Smartsheet so maybe there's a simple way to do this, but I don't know how.

We have about 50 projects that we need dashboards for. They will all be very similar, each containing some basic info about the project, team members, a few tasks, dates, and milestones. One project may have a few more tasks (and sub-tasks) associated with it, but for the most part they will have a very similar layout. Not super complicated sheets. There will also be a main dashboard with higher level data that is aggregated from each of the 50 projects.

Basically my management wants an overall dashboard for all of the projects combined at a high level, and then also a way to drill down into project-specific dashboards that have some additional detail, charts, etc., for the specific project.

So, is there a way that I can either:

1) Build a dashboard with a button that can select any of the 50 projects and then refresh the dashboard with that project's info (or a button that can just cycle through the projects at each button click), or

2) An easy way to build a dashboard for each project, and then have a table of contents or some other link, etc on a main dash board that will launch any of the 50 individual project dashboards as needed.

Any help is appreciated, as I'm totally new to this!

Tags:

Answers

• axwestlake
    Options

If you have a list of the 50 projects in a board, you can add a column to that board that includes a link to the project-specific dashboard. You can then have a report that shows the project name and link columns and use that as a table of contents. If you have a way of grouping projects together in the board, your report could group by that column which would make the list of 50 projects easier to navigate. Or, at the very least, sort the projects by name so people can easily find the right project.