Final Value from Multiple Column Drop Down Lists

GeorgeM
GeorgeM
edited 04/03/24 in Formulas and Functions

Hi

I am new to smart sheet, so creating a formula is not my strong point. I am creating a sheet where in the column named: Type Of Shoot, has a drop down list. Then in the column name: Duration, also has a drop down list. I then want the column named: Fee, to produce the value (cost) based on the drop downs selected from columns "Type of Shoot" and "Duration".

Image one shows the sheet where it must be done, the drop downs have been created. The second image shows another sheet where i created the values to pull/reference from:

It would be great if I could be assisted with a formula that populates the Fee column based on the selections made in "Type of Shoot" and then the option chosen from Duration being "Half Day, Full day or 24 Hours".

Thank you

Best Answer

Answers

• Andrée Starå
    Andrée Starå ✭✭✭✭✭✭

Hi @GeorgeM

I hope you're well and safe!

You could connect the sheets using cross-sheet formulas combined with either a VLOOKUP or INDEX/MATCH structure. When you update the source sheet, it will reflect on the destination sheet.

Here's an example of how it's structured.

=VLOOKUP(CellThatHaveTheValueToMatch@row,{RangeThatHaveTheValueToMatch*}, ColumnNumberWithTheValueYouWantToShow, 0)

*Where the first column is the ColumnWithTheValueToMatchAgainsTheCell

I used a VLOOKUP in my example, so you only have to create one range. If we used INDEX/MATCH, you would have to create four ranges.

Try something like this. (create the range first)

=IF(Duration@row = "Half Day", VLOOKUP([Type of Shoot]@row, {FeeTable}, 2, 0), IF(Duration@row = "Full Day", VLOOKUP([Type of Shoot]@row, {FeeTable}, 3, 0), IF(Duration@row = "24 Hour", VLOOKUP([Type of Shoot]@row, {FeeTable}, 3, 0))))

Did that work/help?

I hope that helps!

Be safe, and have a fantastic week!

Best,

Andrée Starå | Workflow Consultant / CEO @ WORK BOLD