Two part form to one line on data sheet

Options

I have 2 forms that are capturing information from two audiences on the same primary key.

1. Can I get the data from the Primary Key to become a drop down field in a second form?
  2. How can I get data from both forms referencing the same Primary Key to record on one line in the data sheet?

Form 1 link: https://app.smartsheet.com/b/form/18a84ba1412e4152b56bd30c6868e1e1

Form 2 link: https://app.smartsheet.com/b/form/8dc3177db9da4d5ea2587681ea0c4119

Sheet link: https://app.smartsheet.com/sheets/27fR24VqqpChVmH9q47m27WPF2j8Hfjm5Q7PR7v1

I am very new to SmartSheets so any tips/tricks are welcome. I used the RFP template as a start for this and will delete what's not needed when complete.

Thanks!

dru

Best Answer

• Andrée Starå
    Andrée Starå ✭✭✭✭✭✭
    Answer ✓
    Options

Hi @dbussiere

I hope you're well and safe!

• Can I get the data from the Primary Key to become a drop down field in a second form?

[Andrée Starå] Yes, but you'd have to add the premium app, Data Shuttle*, the Smartsheet API, or a third-party service.

• How can I get data from both forms referencing the same Primary Key to record on one line in the data sheet?

[Andrée Starå] The simplest way would be to have the main form on the main sheet and the second form on a separate sheet and then use cross-sheet formulas (VLOOKUP or INDEX/MATCH) to collect the information from form two to the main sheet.

Make sense?

Would that work/help?

I hope that helps!

Be safe, and have a fantastic weekend!

Best,

Andrée Starå | Workflow Consultant / CEO @ WORK BOLD

Did my post(s) help or answer your question or solve your problem? Please support the Community by marking it Insightful/Vote Up, Awesome, or/and as the accepted answer. It will make it easier for others to find a solution or help to answer!

*Feel free to reach out at andree@workbold.com, and I'd be happy to help you with the Data Shuttle license and more.