Return value at the intersection of a row and column

Options
bob865
bob865
edited 04/26/24 in Formulas and Functions

I am new to smartsheet and haven't found what I'm looking for through search. I have a sheet that is contains a table of cycle times. This table is for reference and the values in the table will be used in a different sheet. I want to be able to return the value that is at the intersection of a row and column based on two values in the main table.

So in this sheet, I have two values, the router step and project type. I want to have the value from the table in the second sheet placed in the cycle time column.

In the second sheet I have a table with the cycle times. So for example, Project 1, I would want 22 in the cycle time column. This value need to be dynamic so either of these values change, the value in the cycle time column would change.

Any help or guidance is appreciated.

Best Answer

• bisaacs
    bisaacs ✭✭✭✭✭
    Answer ✓
    Options

Hey @bob865,

I think what you're looking for involves a combination of IF, INDEX, and MATCH:

=IF([Project Type]@row = "Kaizen - Light", INDEX([Kaizen - Light]:[Kaizen - Light], MATCH([Router Step]@row, [Primary Column]:[Primary Column])), IF([Project Type]@row = "Kaizen - Medium", INDEX([Kaizen - Medium]:[Kaizen - Medium], MATCH([Router Step]@row, [Primary Column]:[Primary Column])), IF([Project Type]@row = "Kaizen - Heavy", INDEX([Kaizen - Heavy]:[Kaizen - Heavy], MATCH([Router Step]@row, [Primary Column]:[Primary Column])))))

You'll need to change the cell references for each to actually link to the columns you're requiring, but I think how I labeled things makes sense.

Hope this helps!

If my response was helpful in any way (or answered your question) please be sure to upvote it, mark it as awesome, or mark it as the accepted answer!

Answers

• bisaacs
    bisaacs ✭✭✭✭✭
    Answer ✓
    Options

Hey @bob865,

I think what you're looking for involves a combination of IF, INDEX, and MATCH: