Populating a drop down from data in another sheet

Options

Hello, I am in need of some assistance please!

I am a developer and have been tasked with importing employee data into Smartsheet through the API. I have successfully built a C# service that pushes data into a sheet in smartsheet, my problem is they want to be able to auto populate a different secondary sheet (destination sheet) with the data in my employee sheet(source sheet test). The request is that the employee ID column (in the destination sheet) is a drop down that populates ID's from my master source sheet, when an ID is selected, specified fields (name, email, jobTitle, etc) are also autopopulated based on the selected ID. Is this even possible? I have read through and watched several guides but have not seen anything close to what I am trying to do, if there is a way please help me!

Best Answer

• Brian_Richardson
    Brian_Richardson Overachievers
    Answer ✓
    Options

You have to populate it. Theres a long standing enhancement request for Smartsheet to provide a way to populate a dropdown through a reference, search and vote it if you like, but for now the only option is to populate the array of choices.

BRIAN RICHARDSON | PMO TOOLS AND RESOURCES | HE|HIM

SEATTLE WA, USA

IRON MOUNTAIN

Answers

• Cory Page
    Cory Page ✭✭✭✭✭
    Options