Bi-Weekly Pay Period update and points added during said pay period.

SamuelK
SamuelK
edited 06/28/24 in Formulas and Functions

Hey everyone, I am fairly new to Smartsheet, so I am sorry if this is actually pretty easy. But, I have been trying to find the answer for a hot minute and even played around for hours, so I am going crazy. Thank you for your help in advance.

I would like to do two things. Have the two pay period columns update themselves based off of a two week pay period (14 days). The current one started back on 6/17 and ends 6/30. So I would like it to update to 7/01 to 7/14, once it lands on the appropriate starting date. I'm open to all suggestions, including reducing this down to a single column if you have found it easier. Like I said, I am very new and need all the advice.
And the second thing I would like to do, is have the points from the Total Points Daily column added up and the total placed in to the Total Points Pay Period column, based off the range of those dates. Aka, 6/17 to 6/30.

"=SUMIFS([Total Points Daily]:[Total Points Daily], Employee:Employee, Employee@row, Date:Date, ">=06/17/24", Date:Date, "<=06/30/24")"

I was able to use the above formula to create the numbers per specific employee between the two dates, using just the Date column. I had to convert the date column to a text/number column instead of a date column, which I thought was weird. I would also then have to manually switch the code every pay period and wouldn't be able to convert the formula to a column formula. So I stopped using it.

The current Date column is populated form a drop down menu through a form. Along with the rest of the info.