Help with

Hello All,

I'm new to Smartsheet and

I am trying to create a formula to implement a policy of ours that students must reserve an item 72 hours/3 days in advance — requests less than 72 hours are either denied/must require the student to resubmit an intake form. What's the best solution to this since I cannot restrict an intake response based on time limits?

I've come up with the following "statement": Students cannot check out a specific item if the pick-up date is less than 72 hours/3 days of the created date. I'd like for anything that falls within the less than 72 hours of created date to automatically flag the row and make an "update request" to the user who sent the request in.

1. Is this the best way to create a 72-hour in advance system?
  2. If so, how would I code this/what are the steps to make the above statement work in smartsheets?

Apologies for the mouthful, I'm hoping my request is clear enough. I'm providing a screenshot of my Smartsheet.

Thank you so much!

Best Answer

• Kerry St. Thomas
    Kerry St. Thomas ✭✭✭✭✭
    Answer ✓

TIME calculations are a little icky in Smartsheet. If you're able to flatten your position as "3 days" instead of "72 hours" it becomes MUCH easier. So the recommendation would be to start there if you can. IF THAT IS AN OPTION, you can use a formula in a helper column (like your Flagged column, or a checkbox column, or something like that):
    =IF(NETDAYS([Date Created]@row,[Pick-up Date]@row)<4, 1,0)
    …and then set up an automation. Trigger: when a row is added; Condition: Flagged is checked, Action: send an email that says "Pickups must be scheduled more than 3 days out; please resubmit your request. Here's a helpful link to do just that."