Need help merging repeated sub tasks with schedule steps

sbrittin2
sbrittin2 ✭✭✭
edited 07/30/24 in Formulas and Functions

I am trying to figure out a way to merge high-level schedule steps with more granular tracker steps without having to build a whole new, super repetitive template.

I have a master schedule that lists out all of the tasks for a project at the chapter level. However, each chapter breaks down into multiple parts, and those parts are tracked outside the full schedule to avoid a massive amount of duplication. (Imagine each step having 10 repeating subtasks….shudder)

I use reports to indicate to the team when their tasks are ready, but they also need to see the subtasks (the parts of the chapter) that need to be finished for the overall task to be complete.

Is there any way to build those chapter parts that would repeat for each schedule step into a separate template and have them pull into a report or tracker as needed, without actually building out the schedule with all those repeating tasks?

Here's a basic example.

The schedule itself would look like what's show in Batch 2 (or the collapsed Batch 1)—the high level tasks that need to be completed for the whole chapter. Those tasks are assigned to one person as the "manager" for that task.

Here's what I'm trying to accomplish without making the schedule ridiculously repetitive and long:

This way, as other people are responsible for the sub-parts of a chapter, those lines will appear in their reports. Additionally, the "manager" can change the assignments and add individual dates to those sub-tasks without impacting the master schedule line.

I'm honestly not sure if this kind of blending is possible without a rebuild. But I would love to hear any ideas!

Answers

• jmyzk_cloudsmart_jp
    jmyzk_cloudsmart_jp ✭✭✭✭✭✭

Hi @sbrittin2
    The outline of this demo solution is as follows.