Help!! CountM but Distinct

Hello All,

Our org uses multi-select columns a lot, and would like to know the total # of unique options ever selected within a range. In the example below, this would mean out of those 4 rows, I would like a formula that returns "3", meaning that 3 unique options were selected, rather than 5 total options as the =countm formula helps with. In theory, using the distinct formula within countm. We have over 500 "Options", so keeping that it mind when needing to set anything else up manually.

I have called Smartsheet Support but they weren't able to help craft any formulas or solutions. Been working on this for months it feels (I'm not an expert and it's a peripheral job for me. Can anyone help? Thank you!

Best Answer

• Matt Lynn-PCG
    Matt Lynn-PCG ✭✭✭✭✭✭
    Answer ✓

@mhawkins

1.) You need to make a column (such as your "Total # of Unique options selected ever?" column to be a multi-select drop down. In that column/cell put this formula:

=JOIN(COLLECT(Options:Options, Options:Options, @cell <> ""), CHAR(10))

By doing this the multi-select formula will only show each discovered option 1 time, if it's there.

2.) THEN in another cell put the =countm([ref above formula/cell]) formula and you'll get 3.

Certified Platinum Partner

2023 Partner of the Year

PrimeConsulting.com

Answers

• Matt Lynn-PCG
    Matt Lynn-PCG ✭✭✭✭✭✭
    Answer ✓

@mhawkins

1.) You need to make a column (such as your "Total # of Unique options selected ever?" column to be a multi-select drop down. In that column/cell put this formula:

=JOIN(COLLECT(Options:Options, Options:Options, @cell <> ""), CHAR(10))

By doing this the multi-select formula will only show each discovered option 1 time, if it's there.

2.) THEN in another cell put the =countm([ref above formula/cell]) formula and you'll get 3.

2023 Partner of the Year

PrimeConsulting.com