Help on Formula: automate status based on dates

Grace
Grace
edited 12/09/19 in Formulas and Functions

Hi all,

I'm pretty new with formulas and I wanted to automate the status of each projects based on dates. I have columns Status and Progress. The status column have a selection of: Completed, Active and Not Started and the progress column have: On-time, Delayed and Not Due.

On the screenshot below, the columns Status and Progress were manually calculated and some are incorrect. What formulas do you suggest that I use to get the correct status?

I have tried something like the below in Excel but it's incorrect.

=IF(G3>=E3,"Complete","Active",if(isblank(G3),"Not Started"))

Many thanks in advance for your help,

Grace 

Project Status.png

Tags:

Comments

• Mike Wilday
    Mike Wilday ✭✭✭✭✭✭

Hi Grace, 

One peculiar thing about Smartsheet is that it doesn't refer to columns as letters as in Google Sheets or Microsoft Excel. You need to reference the column titles. 

=IF([Actual End Date]3 > [Project End Date]3... like that. You have to use brackets if your column title ends in a number or has white spaces in it. 

I can't tell which columns you are referencing. Could you describe in detail what you are trying to accomplish with the IF formula you created? It looks like you're comparing two dates to determine if the project is complete... but there is an issue with your IF statement, because IF G3 > E3 then you will say complete, but then you add the else, "Active" which will make everything say active if the first statement isn't accurate. Try this: 

=IF([Column G title]3>=[Column E Title]3,"Complete",if(isblank([Column G Title]3),"Not Started", "Active"))

Replace with your actual titles. :) 

• Hi Mike,

Apologies for the confusion. The formula I provided was from Excel that's why. I have recreated it in Smartsheet and used the below formula (screenshots attached).