Conditions / Rule formula set-up

I am working on a sheet, and I am very new to this application, where I am tracking P.O.'s, date ordered, date received, etc... and I have 2 columns (at the far right of my sheet or end) that I would like to 

If the P.O. Total is < or = to the Invoiced Amount the cell would turn green and  if it was > than to turn the cell red.

I have tried numerous ways but I guess my brain cant rap around the logic the designers used when creating these formulas.  I need a bit of help please.

Thank you in advance,

Mary Miller

Comments

• Mike Wilday
    Mike Wilday ✭✭✭✭✭✭

Hello Mary, 

I would add a helper column to your row. Add an RYG Symbol column and put this formula in it. =IF([P.O. Total] > [Invoiced Amount], "Red", IF([P.O. Total] <= [Invoiced Amount], "Green")

This will give you a green stoplight. You will use this as helper column for turning the cell green. 

Click on the Conditional formatting tab in the toolbar. 

Click on ADD NEW RULE. 

And then you get to set your condition to if the RYG symbol = green. 

And then you can change "This Format" To the green color. 

Then change "entire row" to the column name you want green. 

• Good morning Mike!

Thanks so much for the timely response, however I have sat here now for about an hour going step by step from your formatting suggestions and still can not get this to work the way it should.  These formulas are kicking my butt. Smartsheet is a great tool, but does not help if you can't use it as a beginner right out of the gate like excel, (as I am only one week into working with Smartsheet). I am getting frustrated, but I will eventually get the hang of it, I hope.

I set up a new column and labeled it RYG status and as you instructed then created the formula:

. =IF([P.O. Total] > [Invoiced Amount], "Red", IF([P.O. Total] <= [Invoiced Amount], "Green"), as you also recommended I do.