automate RYG balls

Options
RawRobb
RawRobb
edited 12/09/19 in Formulas and Functions

I'm a smartsheet newbie and i'm ultimately trying to build a formula that automates task progress based on the following:

If % Complete = 100, return Blue

If it’s not scheduled to start yet, return Clear

If it’s past the scheduled finish date, return Red

If % complete >= (today date-start date)/task duration, return Green

Otherwise, return Yellow.

After researching if statements i wanted to at least start with the first simple if statement to return blue ball if task is 100% complete. Below is what i used for the formula but nothing returns in the cell.

=IF([% complete]1 = 100, "Blue")

attached screenshot

RYG task indicator automation.PNG

Tags:

Comments

• Brian W
    Brian W ✭✭
    edited 01/25/19
    Options

You're very close. In formulas, % complete is a range of 0-1, so it should be:

=IF([% complete]1 = 1, "Blue")

If you were looking for over 50% it would look like this:

=IF([% complete]1 > .5, "Blue")

Let me know if you need help with the rest of the formula.

• RawRobb
    Options

Thank you!!  I’m obsessed w making this formula work and figure if i chunk out the pieces then I can just tie it all in after I test each piece. This was the easiest piece.  Ok. Well I’m onto the next piece. Hope you’re online for my next question!  Really appreciate the quick response.  

• RawRobb
    RawRobb
    edited 01/28/19
    Options

I figured it out, here's the breakdown so that my RYG status indicator is automated based on the below, and you only have to put in your manual % completes.  Not bad as i've never used smartsheet and i am basic excel user, never used MS project :) 

• For non-zero duration tasks
      • If % Complete = 100, return Blue
        • =IF([% complete]1 = 1, "Blue")
      • If it’s not scheduled to start yet, and % complete is blank, return Clear
        • =IF(AND(TODAY() < [Start date]7, ISBLANK([% Complete]7)), "")