Formula to identify number of parent rows with a specific status (excludes child rows)

Options
APWURK
APWURK
edited 12/09/19 in Formulas and Functions

Hello, I'm quite new to smart sheets and am having trouble parsing out this particular formula I need to make for a work metrics sheet. 

Essentially our spreadsheet is comprised of many parent rows with associated childrens rows. The parent row has a column called "Status" which details where the account associated with the parent role is in our process. 

I would like a formula that helps count the amount of unique statuses in the parent rows. 

And just as an example, one of the unique statuses is named "Waiting For Docs" 

Any direction people could point me in would be immensely helpful and appreciate! 

Comments

• Andrée Starå
    Andrée Starå ✭✭✭✭✭✭
    Options

Hi,

Can you describe your process in more detail and maybe share the sheet(s) or some screenshots? (Delete/replace any confidential/sensitive information before sharing) That would make it easier to help. (share too, andree@getdone.se)

Have a fantastic day!

Best,

Andrée Starå

Workflow Consultant @ Get Done Consulting

SMARTSHEET EXPERT CONSULTANT & PARTNER

Andrée Starå | Workflow Consultant / CEO @ WORK BOLD

W: www.workbold.com | E:andree@workbold.com | P: +46 (0) - 72 - 510 99 35

Feel free to contact me for help with Smartsheet, integrations, general workflow advice, or anything else.

• APWURK
    Options

Hi Andree, 

Thanks so much for your quick response! I'm unfortunately unable to remove all the identifying information in the document and share it with you so I screen shotted a sample of what I'm working with. 

Essentially I need to create a formula that counts the status of each parent row, and ignores the children. So the formula would ideally sum up, for example, how many of the parent rows in the document say "Waiting For Docs" or any other status in our dropdown menu.