How to update reports efficiently when column name changes in source sheet?

Options

I have a problem and would love to hear if anyone has a creative solution.

I have a large "Master Sheet" that essentially aggregates data from hundreds of other sheets across multiple workspaces and serves as a central data repository. Then, I (and many others) run a lot of different reports off of that "Master Sheet" for various purposes.

The issue I encounter is that when a column name is changed within that "Master Sheet", all of the reports that run off of it break (i.e. the reports do not automatically update). I then must figure out what reports reference the column that changed and manually change the column reference in those reports.

The really tricky part is figuring out what reports reference the column in question. We have dozens and dozens of reports, managed by different people, for different purposes. I'm sure there are reports that exist that I'm not even aware of and don't have permission to access. So, one minor change in the "Master Sheet" can affect many many reports, and there's no way to know what reports it will affect.

Is anyone aware of a way to either make reports automatically update when a column that they reference is changed, or, alternatively, map out which reports reference the column that has changed?

Answers

• Andrée Starå
    Andrée Starå ✭✭✭✭✭✭
    Options

Hi Blaine,

Unfortunately, as far as I know, there isn't a better way than to not renaming the columns, but it would be an excellent addition to Smartsheet to be able to see everything referenced in an overview.

Please submit an Enhancement Request when you have a moment to have your vote added

I hope that helps!

Have a fantastic week!

Best,

Andrée Starå

Workflow Consultant / CEO @ WORK BOLD