10 Blank Rows at the Bottom of Sheets

Options

From what I understand, Smartsheet always adds 10 blank rows to the bottom of the sheet, and there is nothing that can be done to stop it. My problem is I have a master project schedule with numerous "helper" columns with formulas that need to be in every row that has a project associated with it. The blank rows do not autofill the formulas until a project is entered, but only if the project is entered on the next available blank row. I have attached two examples to explain what I am describing. Example 1 shows a new project entered on the next available line - Everything works fine. Example 2 shows what happens if someone enters a project in any of the other blank rows - The formulas do not autofill, and there are tons of problems.

Example 1:

Example 2:

There are many people entering projects into this sheet, and most of them do not understand what is going on behind the scenes in the sheet. I'm hoping someone can offer a solution of how to stop example 2 from happening. I even tried locking the blank rows to force everyone to insert new rows to create projects, but Smartsheet just creates 10 more blank rows.

The only other solution I can think of is to create a ton of rows and drag the formula down, but at some point in the future, I would run into the same problem again as the rows fill up, and I'd rather not have 1,000 unnecessary rows in my sheet.

I suppose using a form to create a project might work, but I'm unsure what further problems that would cause with formulas autofilling, and I'd prefer not to introduce a new workflow at this point.

Thanks in advance!

Best Answer

Answers

• Paul Newcome
    Paul Newcome ✭✭✭✭✭✭
    Options

Forms would not affect the auto-fill. In fact it would ensure that each new row is put in directly under the currently used ones and is a very good way of ensuring autofill.