Identifying specific combinations from a multi-select field

Alan Rappa
Alan Rappa ✭✭✭✭
edited 07/29/20 in Formulas and Functions

Good morning, fellow Smartsheeters.

I have a master roadmap sheet that we use to populate numerous dashboards and reports.

One of the columns on this roadmap is Project Type.

It is a multi select drop down with the following values:

Revenue Opportunity, Revenue Loss Avoidance, Risk Compliance & Cost Savings

The stakeholders stated that any projects that are soley Revenue Loss Avoidance or Risk Compliance should not appear on the dashboards or reports.

Simple enough, I identify them using the following formula to check a box. If the box is checked, the row is excluded from the dashboards/reports.

=IF(OR([Project Type]1 = "Risk Compliance", [Project Type]1 = "Revenue Loss Avoidance"), 1, 0)

I just noticed that some projects contain BOTH Risk Compliance and Revenue Loss Avoidance - which my above formula is failing to capture.

I'd like to add another condition to the formula to catch this instance, but haven't been able to identify multiple selections correctly.

I can't use 'contains' because if a project has, say, Risk Compliance and Revenue Opportunity it needs to appear on the dashboard.

Scratching my head here, so I appreciate any help.

Thanks a ton,

-Alan

Tags:

Answers

• Hi @Alan Rappa

The issue here is that you have a multi-select column, and your formula is only looking for one result. It will only look for if the cell has a single selection that equals exactly what you have "in these". You'll want to add in a HAS function, which will check to see if the cell HAS either of these criteria! (Even if both are selected, or one is selected with another option).

HAS was created specifically for multi-select columns. Try this:

=IF(OR(HAS([Project Type]@row, "Risk Compliance"), HAS([Project Type]@row, "Revenue Loss Avoidance")), 1, 0)

Cheers!

Genevieve

Join us at Smartsheet ENGAGE 2024 🎉