Use case for timesheet in Smartsheet

Hello everyone,

I have the following use case that I would like to implement in Smartsheet but I am not sure what is the best option :

• I have a sheet for each employee in my organization, where they are filling incurred time (in days) for each month for each project they are working on.

• I have a master sheet with all the projects and ressources where I would like to compare incurred and planified time at year level for each resource. For planified time I just take data from the projects sheets so it is quite easy, but for incurred time I need to take the sum of incurred time from each resource (that means from each sheet).

The only option I found is to put a formula that verifies who is the resource and then take the incurred time from the specific sheet of the resource. But that means I will need to do that for each resource of my organization (20+) so the formula will be very long and complex.

Another option would have been to put all the incurred time for all the resource in one place (a report for example), but I after that I cannot do formulas that take data from a report..

Do you have any ideas or suggestions about this ?

Thank you very much for your help !

Corentin

Answers

• Bassam Khalil
    Bassam Khalil ✭✭✭✭✭✭

Hi @Corentin Dal Farra 

Hope you are fine, i can help you if you translate your sheet to English😂

PMP Certified

bassam.khalil2009@gmail.com

☑️ Are you satisfied with my answer to your question? Please help the Community by marking it as an ( Accepted Answer), and I will be grateful for your "Vote Up" or "Insightful"

• Corentin Dal Farra
    Corentin Dal Farra ✭✭✭✭✭✭

Hello @Bassam.M Khalil

Thank you for your answer !

Yes absolutely 😉 , for the first sheet I have the following columns :

• Assigné à : assigned to
    • Nom du projet/Chantier transverse : project name
    • The months
    • The sum at the very end