Count Progress Within a Specific Parent Section

Hello, I am new to Smartsheet so I may not be using the correct terminology. I am trying to count the number of tasks set to a certain "Progress" within my project sheet.

Ideally, I would like to break up this count by the different parent sections we have set up (Government Officials, Healthcare & Medical Offices, Non-Profits, etc.)

For example, I'd like to be able to show in the "Government " section I have 3 projects complete, 1 in progress 2 not started. While in the Healthcare section, I have 5 complete, 6 In progress, etc.

Currently, I am using the following formula to count all the Progress results based on their status (=COUNTIF({Raw Data Sheet Range 1}, ="Not Started")

Any ideas on how I can break this up by section? I attached a reference to the sheet. Thanks!

Best Answer

• Mike Wilday
    Mike Wilday ✭✭✭✭✭✭
    edited 12/30/20 Answer ✓

The easiest way to do this is to add a helper column called Parent:

In the helper column add this formula in the first row...

=IF(ISBLANK(PARENT()), [Organization Name]@row, PARENT())

Then right click on it and make it a column formula.

This will add the parent name to your entire sheet. You can hide the column once you have it set up and working.

Then you can do COUNTIFS formula for each organization name to get those counts.

=Countifs({Parent Range}, "Government Offices", {Progress Range}, "Not Started")

=Countifs({Parent Range}, "Government Offices", {Progress Range}, "Complete")

You'll need to replace those ranges I created with Cross sheet references of those columns from your own sheet. They may have different names as you create them, but if you target those columns in your original sheet they will work for you.

Answers

• Mike Wilday
    Mike Wilday ✭✭✭✭✭✭
    edited 12/30/20 Answer ✓

The easiest way to do this is to add a helper column called Parent:

In the helper column add this formula in the first row...