AVG(COLLECT) issues

Options
System
System Employee Admin
edited 01/22/21 in Formulas and Functions
This discussion was created from comments split from: Averageifs Question.

Paul Newcome - seems to me you are the main to ask for AVG(COLLECT) issues. I am attempting to find the average time it is taking to get from one stage to another in a sales process BUT I have 3 business units and within 1 of those business units I have to search for 2 locations. I am very new to formulas and not even sure if I can do this within 1 formula but was attempting to use this:

=AVG(COLLECT([Business Unit]:[Business Unit], OR(@cell = "BU1", Location:Location, OR(@cell = "R3 (South Bay)", @cell = "R4 (Long Beach)"), [Weeks NDA to LOI];[Weeks NDA to LOI])), [Business Unit]:[Business Unit], OR(@cell = "BU2", @cell = "BU3", [Weeks NDA to LOI])

Error coming back is unparsable and I really have no idea what I'm doing!!

I did wonder if I need to do 2 separate Sheet summary fields - the AVERAGEIF formula and then another summary field to do the AVG(COLLECT) to get the total time.

Your expertise would be appreciated. Thank you!

Best Answers

• Paul Newcome
    Paul Newcome ✭✭✭✭✭✭
    Answer ✓
    Options

Ah. Ok. That clears it up for me. My apologies for the initial misunderstanding.

In this case we will want an AVG/COLLECT each of the 3 BUs and then we average those together.

BU1 w/Locations:

=AVG(COLLECT([Weeks NDA to LOI]:[Weeks NDA to LOI], [Business Unit]:[Business Unit], "BU1", Location:Location, OR(@cell = "R3 (South Bay)", @cell = "R4 (Long Beach)")))

BU2:

=AVG(COLLECT([Weeks NDA to LOI]:[Weeks NDA to LOI], [Business Unit]:[Business Unit], "BU2"))

BU3:

=AVG(COLLECT([Weeks NDA to LOI]:[Weeks NDA to LOI], [Business Unit]:[Business Unit], "BU2"))

Average them all together:

=AVG(BU1_formula, BU2_formula, BU3_formula)