Using IF and isblank function to print column value

Options

Hello, I am new to smartsheets and am having a little difficulty getting my spreadsheet to print the actual column value when using if and is blank.

I have two columns: a request by date (manual) and due date (automatic).

The formula should first read the request by date column and print that date if there is a value however if the column is blank, then it should print the usual due date.

=IF(ISBLANK([Request Date]@row), ([Due Date]@row,) ([Request Date]@row))

This only gives me an #UNPARSEABLE response.

I was planning to combine this with a simple formula to track days until due via =(above string) - today().

Let me know if I am missing something, thank you!

Best Answer

• Kelly Moore
    Kelly Moore ✭✭✭✭✭✭
    Answer ✓
    Options

oh. I didn't realize you had a 3rd date. By the way, this is in a 4th date column, correct?

We received an invalid data error from [Request Date]=0. A date column wouldn't have a zero. I misunderstood you when you mentioned a third column needs to be checked-I thought you meant a checkbox column. My bad.

=IF([Column1]@row<>"", [Date1]@row, IF([Column1]@row="", [Date2]@row, IF(AND([Column1]@row="", [Column2]@row=""), [Date3]@row)))

plug your columns into the above.

Answers

• John Fasano
    John Fasano ✭✭✭
    Options

I forgot to include a 3rd column that needs to be checked, so two columns would need to be blank for the date to revert to the original due date, thank you!

• Kelly Moore
    Kelly Moore ✭✭✭✭✭✭
    Options

Hey @John Fasano

Try this

=IF(AND(ISBLANK([Request Date]@row), [your checkbox column]@row=0), [Due Date]@row, [Request Date]@row)

be sure to replace insert your real checkbox column name into the formula.

In your original formula the terms were enclosed in parentheses - this prevented the formula from executing.

Let me know if I need to tweak this further

cheers

• Charlene Dewbre
    edited 02/02/21
    Options
  • John Fasano