Novice user-Basic Dashboard fields

I'm a novice user trying to figure this out myself who has built my first Sheet with Tasks, Name, and % Complete. I have ~300 Tasks. For reporting-out purposes, I want to summarize onto a Dashboard by Name, and each name's Task Count and overall % Complete. I created Reports for each Name with Task Count and Avg % Complete summaries, and thought this was the right step thinking this is a needed interim step to summarize data that could then go into a Dashboard. Is that typically how it's done? But I'm not figuring out how to use Widgets to get this Report data into a Dashboard. I've also thought about just summarizing the Sheet data into one Report for my "reporting-out" purposes, but I have to figured out how to do that.

I'm an individual subscriber, so maybe features aren't available to me to do these summary reporting-out functions with either a Dashboard or a Report? I've read many articles, but they circle me back to what I've already tried. Any help and direction is appreciated! Thanks.

Best Answer

• Genevieve P.
    Genevieve P. Employee
    Answer ✓

Hi @Pat Deignan

The Grouping and Summary features in Reports are new, so they currently aren't supported in Dashboard Chart or Report widgets (but our Product Team is working on this!) The interim solution is to Publish the Report and embed it as a Web Content Widget, but the Publishing feature is only available on multi-user plans.

As an alternative, you may want to set up a "Metrics" sheet where you can use formulas to gather the same data, the step between the source sheet and the dashboard. For example, you can set up a cross-sheet COUNTIFS function to count the number of rows that meet a certain criteria (like the Task Name). You can also use an AVG(COLLECT combination to find averages in another sheet.

Here are some articles which may help you build this out: