Resource View doesn't have the correct Allocation %

I am creating a Resource View that my team can use to track work allocation. It works, but there are several places where the data is not accurate - the allocation % on the Resource View does not match the allocation % on the project plan.

For instance, in one Smartsheet, we have a task for 1 hour, which comes out to be 12.5% of the workday - in the resource view, it's showing 2%. In a different smartsheet, I have 8 different tasks that add up to 84% of a workday - in the resource view, it's showing 15%.

I'm new to resourcing, and have reviewed the help articles, and confirmed the sheets are properly set to the resource management. Any tips on what I'm doing wrong?

Thank you!!!

Answers

• Hi @Karen Novellino

What percent are you Allocating to this person for that 1 hour? If you want that person to be allocated to the entire hour then they should be set at 100% Allocation.

If you set that person to be 12.5% Allocated, that identifies that they are only taking 12.5% of the hour, instead of the full hour. This is then only 2% of the day, since they're not working the full hour, does that make sense?

Assigning less than 100% could work if you were assigning one task to multiple people... so for example two resources are each allocated 50% of the same task because they're both working on it for that hour, together. (See: Assign People to a Task)

This means instead of one person working for the entire hour at 12.5% (or 13%) of the day, two people work for 50% of 1 hour, which is 6% of the day for each of them.

See Resource Management and Allocation for more information. Let me know if this explains the behaviour you're experiencing! If not, it would be helpful to see screen capture of how you have your sheet set up, and your Project Settings, but please block out any sensitive data.

Cheers,

Genevieve