A Beginner's question coming from a self-taught 4+ year Smartsheet user...

AndyFAFF
AndyFAFF ✭✭
edited 09/13/23 in Smartsheet Basics

Apologies for the basic nature of this question. I am a Director of a NP that sends disadvantaged kids to sleep-away camps. I have three main areas of concentration: 1. The Camps (who offer the scholarships), 2. Our Educators (who select the camper), and 3. Our campers.

Each of the three concentrations are populated with dates, comments, grade levels, session lengths, etc... Up to this point, I've created several "temporary" sheets (so I can focus on one task at hand without getting overwhelmed, for example, placing new campers into spots that are offered by camps...it feels like I'm running the NFL Draft!) and also, one major sheet that has most of all three components. Many times I will "Hide" most columns to keep them from distracting me, and also, for ease of navigating across many columns.

I know there must be a better way to manage this so that several smaller sheets can populate into my major sheet. This is probably a basic skill that Database users master week one, but, since I'm self-taught and have pored over tutorials and articles, I've managed how I've managed. It makes sense, it's accurate...but I KNOW I'm using a pinky's worth of Smartsheet's capability.

If any one could refer me to a clear and approachable set of Smartsheet's instructions, or best practices, or formulas...I want to learn this and make Smartsheet work alongside me, instead of me playing "MacGyver" trying to create a database with bandaids and chewing gum. Thank you for any advice, direction or help you may provide.

Best Answer

Answers

• Andrée Starå
    Andrée Starå ✭✭✭✭✭✭

Hi @AndyFAFF

I hope you're well and safe!

Have you explored the templates/template sets in the Solution Center?

Would that work/help?

I hope that helps!

Be safe and have a fantastic week!

Best,

Andrée Starå | Workflow Consultant / CEO @ WORK BOLD