Average formula for text field

Options

Hi I’m new to smartsheet

I am trying to input a formula into the sheet summary field that will average “closed complete” and “closed cancelled” for a column labeled “status”

I was able to count the two fields for both but not average them with the proper formula

thank you

Best Answer

Answers

• Nik Fuentes
    Nik Fuentes ✭✭✭✭✭
    Options

I image the intended outcome is to have it read "Closed Complete" if there are more of those and "Closed Cancelled" if there are more of those, right? if so, you'll want a nested if() statement instead of an avg().

try something like

if(Count("Closed Complete")>Count("Closed Cancelled"),"Closed Complete", if(Count("Closed Cancelled")>Count("Closed Complete"),"Closed Cancelled","Something Else"))

E.G.:: if there are more "closed complete" than "closed cancelled," say "closed complete," otherwise; if there are more "closed cancelled" than "closed complete," say "closed cancelled," otherwise say 'something else."

• J25
    J25 ✭✭
    Options

Thank you Nik, I was hoping to get the % of those tickets that are close complete and % of closed cancelled out of the total column for Status because there will be times there will be an “open” status in future reports that I want to have to show % Of out of the total so I wanted to understand how to do this with the data on this report. I am going to try this that you sent, but I’m not sure if it will produce what I’ve been asked to show. Im so knew it’s taking me a long time to figure out these types of formulas or if I just need to build a report with the summary of that column as average ?

• Paul Newcome
    Paul Newcome ✭✭✭✭✭✭
    Answer ✓
    Options

First you count the closed and then divide by the count of the total.

=COUNTIFS(Status:Status, "Closed Complete") / COUNT(Status:Status)

• J25
    J25 ✭✭
    Options