I would like to pull data from one smartsheet into another

Options

I'm sorry to be asking this question, I've been struggling for several days. My background is sql against rational databases. In sql, I would like to join together 2 tables and grab the data in column Z from the second table when the values match in both tables on a specific column (not providing the value in the statement as it changes on rows).

What Smartsheet formula will accomplish this? I create a new column for the answer in the Smartsheet I own.

Thank you for your help!

Best Answer

• Jeff Reisman
    Jeff Reisman ✭✭✭✭✭✭
    Answer ✓
    Options

Yes, inconsistent data can make this a challenge. You might have to do some manual data cleanup for this to work correctly.

I'm wondering why you have the same ranges here though:

=INDEX({WashU_Workset Playbook Range 2}, MATCH([Ref ID for Activity when ready for unit test]@row, {WashU_Workset Playbook Range 2}, 0))

There should be two different ranges on the remote sheet. The range after "INDEX" should contain the values you want to pull from the remote sheet into your sheet, based on identifying the rows in that remote sheet that have a value in a different column which matches the value in your sheet. For example:

=INDEX({Item Master Hierarchy Value}, MATCH(PartNumber@row, {Item Master PartNumber}, 0))

This says: give me the hierarchy value from Item Master sheet, where the PartNumber on this row matches the PartNumber from the Item Master sheet.

Regards,

Jeff Reisman

Link: Smartsheet Functions Help Pages Link: Smartsheet Formula Error Messages

If my answer helped solve your issue, please mark it as accepted so that other users can find it later. Thanks!

Answers

• Jeff Reisman
    Jeff Reisman ✭✭✭✭✭✭
    Options

The best method I have found is to use INDEX/MATCH. The Logic is:

Find the value in Sheet2 Column Z, where the value in Sheet1 Column A matches the value in Sheet2 Column A.

Syntax:

=INDEX(range1, MATCH(value, range2, 0))