Transferring largest value of children's row

I am trying to report the document review status. As you can see in the picture, I'd like to report the latest version of the comment sheet of every document.

In the picture, for each topic (there are two topics: Gardening and Cooking) there will be many documents. In this example, Gardening has 3 documents : Apple, Blueberry, and Grape.

For each document, there will be many versions as well as the comment sheet version. There isn't any fix pattern on the sequences.

My objective is to report the latest version of comment sheet for every document in the "Latest comment version" column as shown in the picture. When the comment sheet is not yet issued, I want to write R00.

I am still new to smartsheet and kinda lost here. I hope you can help me with this. Thanks.

Tags:

Best Answer

• Genevieve P.
    Genevieve P. Employee
    Answer ✓

Hi @TYL

It looks like it's working, just for the wrong level!

In your example image, the last child row from Gardening has a blank cell, there is no "R" number. If you type something in the "Grape Version 1" row under the column "Comment Version", that text will appear in the "Gardening" row.

However thanks for clarifying that you're looking to bring this into the second level, not the top level. In this instance we just need to change out the IF part of the formula.

Our statement is looking for the top level, which is Blank. Instead, change the helper Parent Names column to a Multi Select column, and adjust the JOIN formula to create separate values:

=JOIN(ANCESTORS([Task Name]@row), CHAR(10))

Then we can count how many values appear. If there's only 1 value, it means this is the second-level row, one down from the top level.

=IF(COUNTM([Parent Names]@row) = 1,

And then since we changed it to Multi Select, we can see if that cell HAS a selection (versus Contains):