Data Shuttle and Cell Linking

Savita Ubhayakar
Savita Ubhayakar ✭✭✭
edited 06/14/22 in Add Ons and Integrations

I have a destination sheet that uses data from cell links from different other sheets. I created a source sheet using Data Shuttle that runs on attachment. The workflow runs correctly, but the destination sheet doesn't update. It says that the cell link is invalid because it got deleted.

I need that destination sheet to be updated using that data shuttle feature but are Cell Link and Data Shuttle not compatible? The workflow that I have is to replace the data...should I use merge or something else?

Data Shuttle sheet: (csv file attached, this updates as it should)

Source sheet:

Thank you so much for your help and insight...this feature is very new to me so I'm still learning!

Savita

Best Answer

• Genevieve P.
    Genevieve P. Employee Admin
    Answer ✓

Hi @Savita Ubhayakar

When you replace the data with Data Shuttle, it deletes out the previous rows and uploads completely new rows. This means that the cell which was linked to your other sheet is deleted and no longer exists in Smartsheet, which is why you're getting the error.

Instead of using a cell-link to pull the data across, I would suggest using a formula. The formula can look at the columns in general, versus locking on to one specific cell which will be replaced.

In this instance, I'd build out a few INDEX(MATCH formulas to look for a specific value in your BA resource column (such as "CRL"), then return what's in the column next to that value.

An INDEX(MATCH works like this:

=INDEX({Column with value to return}, MATCH("Value to match", {Column with value to match in other sheet}, 0))

For example, you could replace the cell-link that's currently displaying "447" with this:

=INDEX({Plasma/Blood/Bile/Urine column}, MATCH("CRL", {BA Resource Column}, 0))