Warning message when Duplicate entry is done through form

2»

Answers

• Thanks for sharing the formula. I am new to SS and trying to understand the most efficient way to structure formulas. It would be very helpful if you could explain in plain prose what your formula is doing. For your formula to work the base/master sheet will have to be structured a certain way, correct? What form criteria/column is this formula using to decide whether a new form entry is a duplicate? I assume the primary criteria is in column B, right?

Thanks in advance!

Sol

• Genevieve P.
    Genevieve P. Employee Admin

Hi @Sol Elisha

There is no specific structure needed in the sheet for this formula. It's looking into different columns and counting how many times the values in the current row appear in the sheet. If it's more than one time, then this row is a Duplicate!

So, IF

the unique combination of: the content of Column A in this current row and the content of Column B in this current row

Column, Criteria, Column, Criteria

or

ColumnB:ColumnB, ColumnB@row, ColumnA:ColumnA, ColumnA@row

appears anywhere else in the sheet, COUNT how many times there's a row that matches these two criteria.

COUNTIFS(columns and criteria)

If the COUNT is >1 or greater than 1, this means there's a Duplicate, so say the word "Duplicate".

=IF(COUNTIFS(columns and criteria) > 1, "Duplicate",

If the COUNT is only 1, then this is an Original row.

=IF(COUNTIFS(columns and criteria) > 1, "Duplicate", "Original")

For a final formula:

=IF(COUNTIFS(ColumnB:ColumnB, ColumnB@row, ColumnA:ColumnA, ColumnA@row) > 1, "Duplicate", "Original")

Now, if you only have one column with a unique value to check through your entire sheet, you only need to list one column and criteria:

=IF(COUNTIFS(UniqueColumn:UniqueColumn, UniqueColumn@row) > 1, "Duplicate", "Original")