Formula as alternative to Dynamic dropdown menus?

Options

Hello,

I have seen in previous discussions that dynamic dropdown menus are not available without a third party app or Data Shuffle. Neither of those are options right now, so I am trying to do the next best thing.

My situation is this: I have two sheets , the first sheet is a a project specific sheet that has the task codes associated with that project specifically. See below.

The second sheet is my target sheet where I want the values returned. I have an index match formula for the job #, so when the job name is entered, the job # automatically populates. See below.

This is where I am running into issues on the second sheet. I would like to enter the task code description, and it automatically populate the task code (using the index match formula) if that task code is associated with the job number that was just entered. If it not associated with that job number, I would like it to return "NA"

I am still new to Smartsheet and the formulas, so please let me know if I am way off base here or if there is an easier solution.

This is the formula I am trying to work with, it is returning a Invalid Data Type Error. =IF(AND([Job #]@row, INDEX({Task Code Number}, MATCH(Description@row, {Task Code Title}, 0)) = INDEX({23-0080 Foreman Budget Range 1}, MATCH(Description@row, {Task Code Title}, 0))), INDEX({Task Code Number}, MATCH(Description@row, {Task Code Title}, 0)), "NA")

Thank you very much in advance.

Answers

• jmyzk_cloudsmart_jp
    jmyzk_cloudsmart_jp ✭✭✭✭✭✭
    edited 06/14/23
    Options

Hi @Jadon Meador

Alternative to Dynamic dropdown is a subject I am very interested in.

I may have answered your question incorrectly this time, but I have come up with some solutions based on your shared data.😀

Just Get Code From Description by Index Match

Get Code from a table referencing CODE by INDEX and MATCH based on Description.