Displaying the most recent Comment

Good Morning,

I have a dashboard that displays information for a morning meeting, it is all numbers, percentages and charts. I have had no problem with it up until now, I have been asked to add a comment function. Where the meeting head can click, then type a comment to display onto the dashboard before he prints it and goes to the meeting. I created another sheet, then used a form linked to the comment box to give him his easy input.

Where my trouble is, I cannot get the formulas to play nice with the sentence. They work swimmingly for numbers all day. Ive tried a bunch of different ways, but I am still learning Smart sheet so it has been eluding me. My code on the sheet that feeds the dashboard works and feels solid, this is it below.

=IF([12/16 Update 3]17 = [12/16 Update 3]10, "1", "0")

I use this to check the dates, paired with this.

=IF([12/16 Update 2]17 = "1", [Display Comment]4, "Date Mismatch")

Then I have a final check for errors before displaying

=IFERROR([Display Comment]2, "No Comment")

I just cannot seem to get smartsheet to gather the sentence, I need it to gather only the newest sentence, and to not display an old one because there has been no new input. My current attempts are to automate row removal based off of date on the separate comment sheet, to ensure that the sheet stays almost empty, so that the references can be tied to row 2.

It works in theory, and that's barely. It cannot handle two comments in one day for starters, and sometimes smart sheet will start a new row at row three and leave row two blank to vex me. Its crude, and I am unhappy with it, but my attempts to improve it have not had success.

I would love some advice so that I can be done with this comment situation, the answer feels just out of reach that it is driving me crazy.

Thanks,

Tom

Tags:

Best Answers

• Dale Murphy
    Dale Murphy ✭✭✭✭✭✭
    Answer ✓