Advanced Formula #No Match Error

Options
Cristina Ayala
Cristina Ayala ✭✭✭✭
edited 02/16/23 in Formulas and Functions

Hello,

I have a master sheet that I am referencing which contains multiples rows that I need reflected on my teams sheet. There is a column named "Vuln Mgmt" (set as a dropdown/multi-select) that has options Yes: 3rd party, Yes: Security, or No. I want to create a formula that will reference the entire master sheet and look for the phrase "Yes: Security" then feed out the data in the first column of that row.

I recycled another VLOOKUP formula I used to pull data in from the master sheet, the only difference being that instead of putting a specific keyword for the search value, I referenced a cell on my teams sheet.

Formula being used in my team sheet that works: =VLOOKUP([Customer Name]@row, {VulnMgmt Data Set}, 3, false)

New formula that throws 'No Match': =VLOOKUP("Yes: Security", {VulnMgmt Data Set}, 1, false)

I am not sure if VLOOKUP is the best formula for this or how to move forward without manually updating this. Let me know if additional details are needed.

Answers

• Victoria_Indimar
    Victoria_Indimar ✭✭✭✭✭
    Options

Hello!

Using the Vlookup means it'll check the first column of the dataset table to see if it matches the "Yes: Security". If your dataset table does not have those values in the first column, then it won't find a match (No Match). If it is in the first column, then it will output whatever you have in the third column (since you have the "3" and the col_num) where it finds the first matching value. So based on what you explained above, I don't think your dataset table is setup for the Vlookup results you're looking for.