Multiple Approvals based on Multi-Select Field

Options

Hello,

I'll apologize in advance as I'm new to Smartsheet so this may be basic. I'm working on a Application Change Access Form for our office and have the form working where it sends an approval email once it is submitted.

However, I'd like to take it a step further. There are 5 different application options in the form. I'd like to have the form send an approval to different people based on the application chosen (it's a multi-select field).

I played with a workflow that has a condition but it seems like if I add multiple conditions it is only firing off the first one if applicable.

I also tried creating multiple workflows (if application 1 is selected, email John, if application 2, email Roger) etc. but it still doesn't appear to fire off multiples.

Any advice ?

Best Answer

• Kleerfyre
    Kleerfyre ✭✭✭✭✭✭
    Answer ✓
    Options

Why not use a form in Smartsheet to capture all of this and then just share the sheet with the needed people in the Change Request process? That way you could make it a uniform process and not have to pull data from another place to make the sheet. Smartsheet is a great option for this whole process you just described.

Jonathan Sanders, CSM

"Change is always scary because it is unknown, but facing the unknown is what makes us stronger."

Answers

• Kleerfyre
    Kleerfyre ✭✭✭✭✭✭
    edited 05/31/23
    Options

You have your trigger set as when rows are added, try changing it to added or changed. Also, try removing the Username from the trigger. Then make the Conditions say where Applications is one of and make sure you have the Application list set as a dropdown in the sheet. That should fix your issues. If you really need the Usernames, then you can add them as conditions in the condition paths.

Jonathan Sanders, CSM

"Change is always scary because it is unknown, but facing the unknown is what makes us stronger."

• tovythomas
    Options

@Kleerfyre ,