Populating Contact List Dropdown

Options

I am trying to populate dropdown choices for a contact list column via cut/paste or datashuttle. I would like the choices to have the real name of the contact and e-mail address. When I manually add it, if the contact is in my contacts, it adds it the way it should. Cutting and pasting an e-mail address (that is not in my contacts) will add the e-mail address and when I later try to edit it, I am unable to edit the name. I tried the format "FirstName Lastname <user@domain.com>" but it puts the whole thing in the Name field and e-mail address is blank. Trying to do this via datashuttle produces the same results. I see a previous suggestion of importing to "My Contacts" and adding them one at a time. That is not practical since the list is large. Any help or pointers you can provide is much appreciated.

As an aside, I am new to Smartsheet and all I can say is it is frustrating that basic functionality (dynamic dropdown, folder level permissions are just a couple of examples) is missing for apparently years and has not been addressed. Suggestion of using the API or other workarounds (for years) is not really addressing the problem. Had to vent..

Thanks!

Answers

• jmyzk_cloudsmart_jp
    jmyzk_cloudsmart_jp ✭✭✭✭✭✭
    Options

Hi @saratvemuri

You can use the following method to populate dropdown choices for a contact list column.

A Contact cell can be created by

• pasting the format "FirstName Lastname <user@domain.com>" into a Text/Number column,
    • saving it,
    • and then changing it to Contact List.

Contact has the format of "name < email>," for example, "Jone Doe <jone.doe@cloudsmart.llc>."  

Example formula: =[Full Name]@row + " <" + Email@row + ">"

If you have an Employee Directory, you can use the function to create a "name < email>" format based on the directory and then create a master of the company's contacts by changing the column attributes from Text to Contact, as described above.