Seems basic, but I'm having a hard time calculating the expected progress vs actual progress

Hi Everyone,

I'm new to smartsheet and I'm having a hard time figuring out how to take the planned progress versus the actual progress in roll-up form.

For example, for planned progress (percentage), I have the following formula roll-up that I found in the community that looks to be actual:

=IF([Planned Start Date]@row > TODAY(), 0, IF([Planned End Date]@row < TODAY(), 1, (TODAY() - [Planned Start Date]@row) / ([Planned End Date]@row - [Planned Start Date]@row)))

So that column seems okay, but the actual progress doesn't feel accurate. The percentage actual complete tasks are manually entered subjectively. For example, if the planned start and planned end date ended and recorded 100%, while the actual date might match with planned, perhaps it hasn't ended yet, and we're behind but we feel it's only 25% actually complete.

As of now, I'm averaging the children using =AVG(CHILDREN()) of each parent task in the '% work complete' (actual) column that contains subtasks, averaging the subjective actual work progress. This seems okay, but misleading at the very top row..... The reasoning being, the top level actual start date matches the planned start date, and if we measure these against the planned end date they have the same value or it's saying the percent of work complete (actuals) is ahead if I average all the averages below the parent, but it's not accounting for the total duration days (190d).

Hope this makes sense! I see so many things the community has done that seem way more sophisticated then what I'm trying to accomplish. I'd love to hear what you think and any recommendations/suggestions you can offer me.

Thanks so much,

Laura

Answers

• MichaelTCA
    MichaelTCA ✭✭✭✭✭✭

Hello @LauraLou,

Sorry I'm a little confused as to which column(s) are we actually working with here.

Are these sections in a hierarchy?