Help Finding the correct formula to gather a piece of data

Hello!

I am new to SmartSheet and am trying to work on an impact heat map for various projects across an organization.

In one column I have the project and its subtasks, then stakeholder group, the month of impact, and the degree of change (high, medium, low). I want to link that spreadsheet to another that will just shows the degree of change (in color) in the correct spot.

I was thinking I would need an index function or an if/then but I am not sure.

Main Sheet:

The sheet I need it to feed (colors are there as a sample of how it should look in the end):

I want it to pull the coloring from the first sheet into the second sheet in the correct place (month, project, stakeholder)

I don't think it will solely pull the color and understand I may need to assign a value (0,1,3,5) and then conditionally format it to pop out the colors.

Answers

• Alpha Chucky
    Alpha Chucky ✭✭✭✭

Hello Kshelt; Please let me know if this works. I think this answers your question, but I don't if this is what you had in mind at the end of the day...good luck.

Main Sheet: Project Details

Column 1: Project and Subtasks

Column 2: Stakeholder Group

Column 3: Month of Impact

Column 4: Degree of Change (High, Medium, Low)

Secondary Sheet: Visual Impact Matrix

Step 1: Cell Linking

In Smartsheet, you can use Cell Linking to connect data between different sheets. This feature allows you to maintain a level of consistency and synchronization across multiple sheets.

1. Navigate to the Destination Cell: Where you want to display the data in the secondary sheet.
    2. Link to Another Cell:
      • Right-click on the destination cell.
      • Choose "Link to Cell" from the menu.
      • Navigate to your Main Sheet and select the cell with the "Degree of Change" data.
      • Click "Link".

Step 2: Conditional Formatting

1. Highlight the Cell(s): Where you linked the "Degree of Change" data.
    2. Conditional Formatting: