SUMIFS Formula with Three Conditions

Hello all! I'm fairly new to SmartSheets and having troubles with a formula for our Sheet Summary.

Here is a screenshot with what I have started. I want to calculate the total number of units if the employee equals "MB" and HSW is one of the Applicable Categories from the drop-down.

I used the formula below but it returned a value of 0. What part of my formula is currently wrong?

To make matters worse, I want to eventually add a third condition if the Date Earned column is in the year of 2023.

=SUMIFS([Total CE Units]:[Total CE Units], Employee:Employee, "MB", [Applicable Categories]:[Applicable Categories], "HSW")

Best Answer

• DKazatsky2
    DKazatsky2 ✭✭✭✭✭✭
    Answer ✓

Hi @twallen,

Just add a

HAS() to your formula and you will be all set - this is needed for the multi-select field.

=SUMIFS([Total CE Units]:[Total CE Units], Employee:Employee, "MB", [Applicable Categories]:[Applicable Categories], HAS(@cell, "HSW"))

Later, to add the year part, use this.

=SUMIFS([Total CE Units]:[Total CE Units], Employee:Employee, "MB", [Applicable Categories]:[Applicable Categories], HAS(@cell, "HSW"), [Date Earned]:[Date Earned], @cell <> "", [Date Earned]:[Date Earned], YEAR(@twallen

Hope this helps,

Dave

Answers

• DKazatsky2
    DKazatsky2 ✭✭✭✭✭✭
    Answer ✓

Hi @twallen,

Just add a

HAS() to your formula and you will be all set - this is needed for the multi-select field.

=SUMIFS([Total CE Units]:[Total CE Units], Employee:Employee, "MB", [Applicable Categories]:[Applicable Categories], HAS(@cell, "HSW"))

Later, to add the year part, use this.

=SUMIFS([Total CE Units]:[Total CE Units], Employee:Employee, "MB", [Applicable Categories]:[Applicable Categories], HAS(@cell, "HSW"), [Date Earned]:[Date Earned], @cell <> "", [Date Earned]:[Date Earned], YEAR(@twallen

Hope this helps,

Dave

• twallen
    twallen ✭✭