#UNPARSEABLE error

Hi, Im new to smartsheet and trying to build a dashboard for our team.

We have school based students who Im building a dashboard for the program to reflect their progress.

Im currently trying to create on the dashboard a section that shows what qualification they are studying and the year in school that they are in

For example:

Year 11, Certificate II = number of participants

Year 11 Certificate III = number of participants

Year 12 Certificate II = number of participants

Year 12 Certificate III = number of participants

The code I'm trying to use to obtain this information is from two columns are as follows:

=SUM({Current Yr}, "Year 11", {Qualification} "Certificate II")

This is giving me #unparseable as an error.

Any assistance would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you 😊

Best Answers

• DKazatsky2
    DKazatsky2 ✭✭✭✭✭✭
    Answer ✓

Hi @BINXS74,

You are going to need to use =SUMIFS if you want to use a criteria based formula. Try this.

=SUMIFS({Number of Participants}, {Current Yr}, "Year 11", {Qualification}, "Certificate II")

{Number of Participants} is the range from the other sheet that you will be summing.

Hope this helps,

Dave

• Lucas Rayala
    Lucas Rayala ✭✭✭✭✭✭
    Answer ✓

What I would suggest is adding two columns, one that includes the Year value you want to lookup for each line, and the second to include the Certificate value you want to look up (call these columns “Year” and “Certificate”). This will make those values much easier to track visually (they won’t be hidden in the formula), and it will allow you to use a single “column formula” instead of a hundred individual formulas. Once you’ve set up the two new columns, create a practice column to enter your column formula (don’t mess with your current work until you know you’ve got your new formula correct).

The new formula will be:

=SUMIFS({Number of Participants}, {Current Yr}, Year@row, {Qualification}, Certificate@row)