Questions on DataMesh

Options
MMcLain
MMcLain ✭✭✭✭✭
edited 02/22/24 in Add Ons and Integrations

Dear All:

Good morning. We are VERY close to getting the approval from my top management for DataMesh - this is something I have been hoping to get for us since 2019. We were able to help 4 departments set up and become power users of Smartsheet last year. DataMesh will allow easier and faster inter-departmental data share.

There are a list of 14 questions that I would like to get answers to to seal the deal. Our account manager cannot justify the cost and make resources avaiable to get those questions answered for me at this time. Any input/insight you are able to share is greatly appreciated🙏:

1. Does DataMesh allow folders for organization purposes?
  2. Does DataMesh have any limits on how many Configs one can set up?
  3. Can another licensed user set up a DataMesh Config that uses my Source as their Target Sheet, my Target Sheet as their Source and that process cancels what I set up to run?
  4. Can a DataMesh Config be duplicated, activated and deactivated?
  5. After a DataMesh Config is set, can additional Target Sheets be added as long as there are 5 or less?
  6. My trials show that when a Data Field in a Target Sheet is locked, data cannot be mapped/added, is that accurate?
  7. DataMesh allows the mapping of 10 fields, does the “Lookup Values” Field have to be one of those fields? Or can it be a particular value from a dropdown menu in a field?
  8. If more fields need to be mapped, is adding another Config the only solution?
  9. In my trials, if the Lookup Values are removed from the Target Sheet, it breaks the Config, running the config again won't add what was removed from the Target Sheet, please confirm if that is accurate.