I can't change or copy a Sheet Name as an admin

Options
MMcLain
MMcLain ✭✭✭✭✭

Dear All:

I am made an admin to Sheets that belong to someome else for different departments. I just noticed that I can copy and paste a Sheet name as an admin in some Sheets, but am unable to do the same with other Sheets. Are there ways for a Sheet owner to restrict that?

I am mapping Sheets by using DataMesh for a major project, I would like to know if anything else can be restricted for other sheet admins.

I don't own this Sheet but can highlight the sheet name, copy and paste: This belongs to a workspace that I am also an admin.

This is another one that I am made an admin but I can't highlight the sheet name, copy and paste. This is a stand-alone Sheet.

Thank you and have a great weekend!

Best Answer

• Genevieve P.
    Genevieve P. Employee Admin
    Answer ✓
    Options

Hi @MMcLain

Ah! My apologies, I just remembered the difference:

• If you're an Admin of the Workspace you can change sheet names
    • If you're only an Admin of the individual sheet, you cannot change the sheet name

Would you be able to ask the team to share you to the Workspace where the items are located, versus just the individual sheet within that Workspace?

Cheers!

Genevieve

Answers

• Genevieve P.
    Options

Hi @MMcLain

You can change sheet names as an Admin, yes! 🙂

If you're unable to edit a sheet name, can you clarify exactly how you're accessing the sheet? (Mobile, web, desktop app) and that you've verified you are shared to it with Admin permissions? (Versus being a System Admin but only shared with Editor on this sheet).

• MMcLain
    MMcLain ✭✭✭✭✭
    Options

Good morning @Genevieve_B ! I hope your weekend was restful.