Need formula syntax help resolving unparsable error

Options

So, not going to lie, I had to resort to chatgpt for this one after spending 2 weeks, banging my head on this (Got in over my head skill-wise with this one). I've already resolved a few issues I identified using answers to other questions here, but now I'm stuck. I think it has something to do with the nested OR() AND() syntax, which is something I've never used before. Can someone take a look and see what is causing the #UNPARSEABLE?

The formula calculates a next review date for anyone curious.

=IF([Employment Status]@row <> "Active", "", IF(TODAY() - [Hire Date]@row <= 60, [Hire Date]@row + 60, IF(OR([Department]@row = "Traffic", AND([PT/FT]@row = "Full Time", OR([Position]@row = "Lead", [Position]@row = "Assistant Manager", [Position]@row = "Manager", [Position]@row = "Area Manager"))), DATE(YEAR([Hire Date]@row) + CEILING((TODAY() - [Hire Date]@row) / 365, 1), MONTH([Hire Date]@row), DAY([Hire Date]@row)), IF(OR(AND([PT/FT]@row = "Part Time", [Position]@row = "Lead"), AND(OR([PT/FT]@row = "Part Time", [PT/FT]@row = "Full Time"), ISBLANK([Position]@row))), DATE(YEAR([Hire Date]@row) + FLOOR((TODAY() - [Hire Date]@row) / 180, 1) * 0.5, MONTH([Hire Date]@row) + ((FLOOR((TODAY() - [Hire Date]@row) / 180, 1) % 2) * 6), DAY([Hire Date]@row)), ""))))

It just occurred to me while looking at the code that it would have been smart to just make a binary leadership column... Well, learning opportunity anyway.

Answers

• KPH
    KPH ✭✭✭✭✭✭
    edited 03/16/24
    Options

Without seeing the sheet or knowing what the formula is meant to do, the only way to troubleshoot it is to read it and see where it fails. Skip to the end to see where the problem is. Or read on to see how I troubleshoot...

I look at each part in turn, like this:

=IF([Employment Status]@row <> "Active", "")

Looks good. If you test this part in your sheet, it should work.

Then I add the next part