AutoNumber Column Based on Another Column

I have tried to follow other threads asking similar questions, but I'll admit, I'm lost and any attempt at following those formulas has not resulted in what I need!

We currently have a request form and have each submission set to assign an auto number to the request. Which is ok, but we really don't want them to be numbered in order of when they were received as much as in order of TYPE and then when it was received.

For example, a check request would be number CH - 1, the next Check request will be Ch - 2 and so forth. However, if it is an online request, we'd like those to be numbered ON - 1, ON - 2 and so forth.

Please help, and I'm very new to this so please keep that in mind! :) I have an example, showing what we currently have vs what we WANT. Thank you.

Answers

• Kelly Moore
    Kelly Moore ✭✭✭✭✭✭

Hey @RiseUpPNW

I'm happy to help. Thanks so much for the screenshot - it is ALWAYS so helpful when added to any post.

Try this

=UPPER(LEFT([Type Request]@row, 2)) + "-" + COUNTIFS([Type Request]:[Type Request], [Type Request]@row, [Auto #]:[Auto #], @cell <= [Auto #]@row)

The UPPER function forces the text to upper case. The Left is stripping the first two characters out of the [Type Request] column. The COUNTIFS is counting the Types down the sheet based on your Auto number field

Does this work for you?
    Kelly

• Oh my goodness, that's amazing. I particularly LOVE and thank you so much that you took the time to explain what each function was doing! I've been learning as I go so this is extremely helpful! It worked perfectly and I learned a few functions I didn't even know were possibilities. Thank you!