Welcome to the Smartsheet Forum Archives

The posts in this forum are no longer monitored for accuracy and their content may no longer be current. If there's a discussion here that interests you and you'd like to find (or create) a more current version, please Visit the Current Forums.

Extract a number from the Left of a cell - HELP!

Options
deronbalch
edited 12/09/19 in Archived 2017 Posts

Good Day to ALL.

I am new to the vommunity and need some help....

I have a survey form for my clients and when the results are populate, I would like to tally the results - by client.

What I am looking to do is extract the number to the left of the survey response.

eg. 5 - Very Satisfied

4 - Somewhat satisfied

3 - Neutral

I only want the numeric values - "5,4,3" etc. and have them SUM in a separate cell...

Any help is greatly appreciated.

Tags:

Comments

• Mike Wilday
    Mike Wilday ✭✭✭✭✭✭
    Options

You can use the following formula in a new column. 

=SUM(VALUE(LEFT([Column1]4, 1)), VALUE(LEFT([Column2]4, 1)))

Use the brackets [   ] if your column name contains white space or numbers at the end. Basically, you are taking the leftmost character from the text value, and converting it to a number and summing them. Hope this helps. 

• deronbalch
    Options

Mike,

Thanks for the help. I think I am almost there.

I have attached a screenshot of my sheet. I am needing to sum the numeric values of the 6 cells and populate the result in the Rating Column.

I hope the screen shot helps.

Thanks

Capture.PNG

• Mike Wilday
    Mike Wilday ✭✭✭✭✭✭
    Options

Can you please post what you have as a formula in the Rating column? 

• deronbalch
    Options

=SUM(VALUE(LEFT([Price satisfaction]7, 1)), VALUE(LEFT([Transit timing satisfaction]7, VALUE(LEFT([EE to Client feedback]7, VALUE(LEFT([Communication satisfaction]7, 1)))))))

• Mike Wilday
    Mike Wilday ✭✭✭✭✭✭
    Options