Welcome to the Smartsheet Forum Archives

The posts in this forum are no longer monitored for accuracy and their content may no longer be current. If there's a discussion here that interests you and you'd like to find (or create) a more current version, please Visit the Current Forums.

Confused by users and resources

Options
JohnD256
JohnD256
edited 12/09/19 in Archived 2017 Posts

I'm pretty new to SS, which I've been added to by my project's owner as their preferred tool.

We have set up a high-level schedule with gantt chart to get a top-level idea on estimates. I've assigned tasks to people (adding them as needed) and got a pretty gantt with a critical path, but have no idea how utilised each developer is or if I've 'double booked' people.

1. Looking at the docs it seems resource management only works for registered users. I don't want/need our developers using SS but am I understanding correctly - I can assign tasks to users but functionality is intentionally broken by design if they're not in SS themselves?
  2. One of my developers does happen to have SS and I've shared sheets with him... but he's not listed as an organisation user. Are these separate things? I have given him edit access even on our sheets without him being listed?!
  3. Having added people by email address to my master schedule, if I did want/have to add them as SS users on the organisation would this happen automatically or would I have to redo the resource allocation? I already have one email address listed twice...

Thanks for any help.

Comments

• Shaine Greenwood
    Options

Hello,

In order to be able to track people with the Resource Management functionality in Smartsheet, they must be invited to your organization's account. A SysAdmin on your account can invite them as an unlicensed (free) user. Details on resource management are available in our Help Center: https://help.smartsheet.com/articles/2026109-resource-management-overview

• J. Craig Williams