Help on formula: Return value

Grace
Grace
edited 12/09/19 in Formulas and Functions

Hi all,

I am building a project tracker however I am new to creating formulas so please need your help again.

Based on the image below, I wanted to get the Stage and the Progress of the project that will later complete my summary report by just displaying the main headers in yellow.

On row 1, Stage column, I want to get the current task that has an Active status. So if the status of any of the sub tasks is "Active", what is the current task.

The stages or the tasks of the project are the ones just below the project name and are sequential so only one of the stages can have the Active status.

In the image below, the task that has the Active status is "Planning" and is the expected text to display on row 1 Stage column.

The Progress column might have the same formula as above but here's what I wanted to get; if the status is Active, what is the current Progress.

Not sure if I could just drag the formulas in since there would be multiple projects of the same format and new ones could be added in at any point, is this possible?

Kind regards,

Grace

Progress, State.png

Comments

• Mike Wilday
    Mike Wilday ✭✭✭✭✭✭

Hi Grace, 

We did something similar in our reports, but what we had to do was create a massive nested IF statement that checked each row of the children task to give us a status. It would look something like this... 

=IF(stage2 = "Active", Progress2, IF(stage3 = "Active", Progress3, IF(stage4 = "Active", Progress4, IF(stage4 = "Active", Progress4, IF(stage5 = "Active", Progress5, IF(stage6 = "Active", Progress6))))))